Vegan Cake Batter Pancakes

pancakes19

Just as there are times when I want to eat a whole bowl of cookie dough

There are also times when I just want a piece of cake for breakfast. Well, probably several pieces of cake for breakfast, but that’s besides the point.

What can I say, I’m a girl! I love my dessert and it’s totally allowed. (:

While this recipe isn’t necessarily healthy per say–it’s probably better off as a dessert recipe than a breakfast one, not that I paid much attention to that fact–it is much better than its typical counterpart, which is filled with eggs, butter, and processed cake mix containing hydrogenated oils and ingredients I can’t even pronounce. And it truly tastes like cake batter. Really. I think that I actually spooned out about a quarter of the batter before it even made it to the pan.

It’s that good.

pancakes7

Ingredients:

Dry–

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 4 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tarter

Wet–

  • 1 cup plain, unsweetened almond milk (or other non-dairy milk of choice)
  • 2 tbsp non-dairy butter, melted (I used Earth Balance)
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Fold in:

  • 2 tbsp sprinkles

To make:

In a large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients. In a medium sized bowl, whisk together wet ingredients. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry, and then mix until just combined–lumps are normal! Fold in 2 tbsp (or more) sprinkles. Spoon batter onto preheated skillet, and then cook on both sides until cooked through. ***Make sure you don’t make the pancakes too big or flip them too soon, or they may fall apart!

pancakes15

These are delicious even without anything on them, but you can also top them with basically whatever you want–vanilla yogurt, frosting (Pillsbury’s is vegan!), or even just the typical butter and syrup! I topped mine with melted coconut butter combined with a couple spoonfuls of powdered sugar and a splash of milk as a sort of makeshift frosting–though just coconut butter would be delicious, too! (Coconut butter is different, though, from coconut oil, so make sure you use the butter if you go that route!)

I wish I could say I made these for a special occasion or for someone’s birthday or something, but they were honestly just for me to pig out on the couch with–though I think that that’s perfectly okay too (:

These made for such pretty pictures…

pancakes23

pancakes22

pancakes3

pancakes16

pancakes14

And the best part was that they taste as good as they look (:

Lots of love,

Liz

7 thoughts on “Vegan Cake Batter Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Fluky Muses

Leave a Reply

